Location: Intel Jones Farm Conference Center, Hillsboro, Oregon

Overview: This workshop is the 2017 edition of a series of workshops on silicon quantum electronics that have taken place roughly once a year since 2007. In keeping with the tradition that has developed, there will be no invited speakers. Students, postdocs, and senior researchers in the area of silicon quantum electronics are encouraged to submit abstracts. As many abstracts as possible will be selected for oral presentations, and there will also be poster sessions.

Topics of interest include:

  • Qubit implementations in silicon and silicon-germanium
  • Advances in materials and fabrication approaches for Si and SiGe qubits
  • Cryogenic classical (nano)-electronics and classical electronic interfaces with qubits
  • Computer assisted design and analysis of donor and quantum dot architectures
  • Theory and modeling of charge and spin decoherence mechanisms in silicon
  • Quantum error correction for Si and SiGe qubits
  • Approaches to multi-qubit and coherent on-chip communication
  • Hybrid-qubit approaches combining Si and/or SiGe with other qubit systems

Agenda: The workshop will begin Friday morning, August 18, and it will conclude by 5:00 pm on Monday afternoon, August 21.

We are arranging bus transportation to view the total solar eclipse (to either Salem or Madras in Oregon, depending on the weather forecast) on Monday morning, August 21. You must indicate if you plan to attend the eclipse viewing on the online registration page.

Registration: Advance registration is required, and the registration fee of $350 should be paid with your online registration. Abstract submission can also be done using the conference website. The deadline for registration is June 22, 2017 and the deadline for abstract submission is July 15, 2017.

Click here to register
Click here to submit an abstract
Click here to make a hotel reservation

We hope to see you in Hillsboro, Oregon, near Portland, at another exciting workshop.


Local Organizing Committee:
James Clarke (Intel)
Susan Coppersmith (UW-Madison)
Mark Eriksson (UW-Madison)
Mark Friesen (UW-Madison)
Robert Joynt (UW-Madison)
Nicole Thomas (Intel)

International Advisory Committee:
Malcolm Carroll
Mark Eriksson
Mark Gyure
Kohei Itoh
Steve Lyon
Sven Rogge
Marc Sanquer
Michelle Simmons
Thomas Tarman
Lieven Vandersypen

List of Previous Workshops in this Series:

Image Credits:
(left) Gate pattern for double quantum dot in a Si/SiGe nanomembrane, courtesy of M. Eriksson, UW-Madison.
(right) Single-atom transistor based on deterministic positioning of a phosphorus atom in epitaxial silicon, courtesy of Michelle Simmons, CQCCT, UNSW.